Tenth FTA Everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards 20 December 2016

The 10th annual FTA (Freight Transport Association) Everywoman in Transport and Logistics awards have now opened for entries.

Aimed at recognising and rewarding women who make significant contributions to the industry, the awards were designed to stimulate female involvement throughout the sector.

In addition, the Industry Champion Award will recognise a woman, or man, who is championing the progress of women working in transport and logistics.

David Wells, chief executive of the FTA, says the awards will also explore the future of transport and logistics, including new challenges including the rise of e-commerce logistics and the impact of Christmas trading starting ever earlier.

With the sector set for greater growth next year (2017) – the UK freight industry alone is expected to rise to its highest levels since 2014 – the opportunities for women have never been greater, he says.

“We’re delighted to once again be title partner for the FTA everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards, showcasing the incredible diversity of talented women throughout the industry,” states Wells.

“Only 1% of HGV drivers in the UK are women and the sector’s labour shortages mean it’s crucial for firms to recognise the valuable contribution women can make,” he continues.

“These awards uncover role models whose stories can inspire the truck drivers and transport managers of the future and can help make logistics an inspirational career choice for young women to follow.”

There will be two winners per category, one leader and one individual going above and beyond. All nominees should demonstrate how they are innovating and excelling in their roles.

The 2017 award categories are:

The Freight Award: entrants should demonstrate how they are innovating in the sector.

The Passenger Award: entrants should demonstrate how they are improving the customer experience.

The Infrastructure Award: entrants should demonstrate how they are improving road or rail infrastructure.

The Supply Chain Award, sponsored by DHL: entrants should demonstrate how they are improving processes within supply chain.

The Warehousing Award, sponsored by Amazon: entrants should demonstrate how they are innovating and improving warehouse operations.

The Industry Champion Award, sponsored by ASDA: Awarded to one individual only, male or female, entrants should demonstrate the impact that they have had on attracting and retaining women in the industry.

Winners will be unveiled at a prestigious ceremony on 21 June 2016 at the London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square. For further information, visit www.everywoman.com/tlawards

Brian Tinham

Related Companies
Freight Transport Association Ltd

This material is protected by MA Business copyright
See Terms and Conditions.
One-off usage is permitted but bulk copying is not.
For multiple copies contact the sales team.