Winners revealed for McLaren-Honda’s truck driver challenge 17 December 2015

Sean Dignan, Hugh Hamblin and Dean Armstrong have been unveiled as the winner and runners-up respectively in this year’s Mobil Delvac 1 Driver Efficiency Challenge for the McLaren-Honda truck fleet.

In a new category for this year, Giles Mathieson was also recognised for his efficiency gains – marking the greatest improvement since the inaugural Driver Efficiency Challenge in 2013.

The contest – sponsored by ExxonMobil’s Mobil Delvac 1 brand of synthetic heavy-duty diesel engine oil – ran from the Spanish Grand Prix (8 May 2015) to the Italian Grand Prix (4 September 2015).

Drivers were assessed using the Grand Prix scoring system, with points awarded after each race weekend against five criteria: throttle movement; engine optimisation; engine idling; coasting; and deceleration.

The skills and efficiency challenge was created to encourage efficient driving and highlight the potential benefits that can be achieved through high quality lubricants.

Throughout the assessment period, from May to October 2015, the drivers collectively drove for more than 4,500 hours, covering over 280,000 miles and using more than 30,000 gallons of fuel.

As part of the overall drive to improve the efficiency of the McLaren-Honda truck fleet, Mobil Delvac 1 LE 5W-30 heavy-duty diesel engine oil and Mobilube 1 SHC 75W-90 gear and rear axle oil, are used in McLaren-Honda’s truck fleet.

Brian Tinham

Related Companies
ExxonMobil Lubricants & Specialties
Mercedes-Benz UK Ltd

This material is protected by MA Business copyright
See Terms and Conditions.
One-off usage is permitted but bulk copying is not.
For multiple copies contact the sales team.