routeone announces 2022 awards finalists25 August 2022

The finalists of the 2022 routeone awards have been announced, revealing some of the most outstanding operators and people in the coach and bus industry.

The awards, organised by bus and coach magazine routeone, are only open to those who have been nominated by their industry peers, so to have been invited to enter is an achievement in itself. All nominees were invited to submit an entry, detailing why they are deserving of the industry’s highest accolades.

Now, a diverse judging panel of industry experts have come together to create a shortlist of potential winners from an exceptional selection of entries. The finalists are now one step closer to being recognised as the best in the business at a black-tie event on Wednesday 2 November at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole.

Says event director Helen Conway: “After two years of disruption across the sector, we are delighted to host the routeone Awards again in November.

A total of 68 finalists will compete across 15 categories, including two new categories, The Above and Beyond Award which recognises individuals or businesses that have gone the extra mile to support their organisation and the wider coach and bus industry since 2020, and Outstanding Customer Experience.

The finalists include:

Engineer of the Year, Small/Medium Operator (up to 150 vehicles), partnered by Pelican Bus & Coach:

  • Barry Arents, Hunt's Coaches
  • Ian Scott, Stanley Travel
  • Lee Ahern, Newport Transport
  • Scott Johnson, Johnson Bros Tours and Redfern Travel

  • Engineer of the Year, Large Operator (over 150 vehicles), partnered by Knorr-Bremse

  • Laura Hill, Arriva (also shortlisted for the Rising Star award)
  • Richard Mann, National Express West Midlands
  • Simon Carlisle, First West Yorkshire
  • Tom Linnecor, National Express UK Coach (also shortlisted for the Rising Star award)

  • Now in its 16th year, the routeone Awards boasts a judging panel of seven senior industry figures, each bringing a wide level of knowledge and experience from a variety of disciplines. Returning judges include Joan Aitken OBE, former traffic commissioner for Scotland; Kevin Middleton, former engineering consultant; Peter Nash, former head of commercial policy for Stagecoach UK Bus; Richard Delahoy, transport consultant; and Steve Dewhurst, former managing director for Volvo Bus. Former Nottingham City Transport managing director Mark Fowles OBE and former Volvo Bus product engineering manager Norman Thomas join the panel for their first year.

    Transport Engineer

    Related Companies
    Diversified Communications UK

    This material is protected by MA Business copyright
    See Terms and Conditions.
    One-off usage is permitted but bulk copying is not.
    For multiple copies contact the sales team.