Entries open for SOE awards

The Society of Operations Engineers (SOE) has announced that the 2024 edition of its safety awards will shine a light on two themes: safety and resilience.

The 2024 awards seek to honour and celebrate the individuals, teams and organisations who have spearheaded technologies and solutions to propel industries forward.

The awards are free to enter and are open to members and non-members. The 2024 edition also introduced a number of new categories to shine the spotlight on the themes of resilience and safety with additions such as ‘Helix’ awards and safety categories such as safety specialist and safety innovation awards. Awards are split between individuals and company categories – with opportunities for organisations to show the work they have been doing over the past year to drive engineering forward.



Helix Award


Environmental Engineer of the Year

Road Transport Engineer of the Year

Plant Engineer of the Year

Engineer Surveyor of the Year

SOE Volunteer of the Year

Future Leader

Safety Specialist Award of the Year


Engineering Company of the Year

Safety Innovation of the Year

People Development Champion


SOE Region of the Year

All shortlisted nominations will be invited to a gala dinner in October for an afternoon of celebration and networking.

Shortlisted entries will get recognition for their work and achievements through press releases and social media channels across SOE’s publications, including a feature in Transport Engineer and Operations Engineer.

The entry process has been made simpler this year through online submissions and a dedicated FAQ with tips and advice on crafting an impactful entry.

For award enquiries, get in touch with

More information is available here.

Related content